Website with embedded YaCy Kiosk

I think YaCy really shines when used as a regional information Kiosk.

Porteus and YaCy compliment each other and enhance each other.

This is an attempt at a regional “Virtual Kiosk” for the Fort Plain, New York area.

It is in “portal for your own webpages” mode, which I never tried before, but it works out marvelously as a regional data-center. I’ve only done a limited crawl of a few select area websites, but I’m just getting started.

I still do not have a PROVEN Porteus+YaCy Live USB with persistent memory storage, but I’m 99.999 percent sure it is working, because I’ve been watching YaCy’s memory usage and also because this whole YaCy on a stick thing is running so incredibly fast and error free.

Previously the setup, with little persistent memory, would become dysfunctional, eventually freeze up and need to be rebooted, I couldn’t really crawl many websites as there would be no drive space etc. but now! I’ve been crawling page after page for hours at an average speed of about 120 ppm, when actively crawling. but I’m actually holding YaCy back, by keeping crawls at about 1000 pages (per craws or start page), sometimes 2000 or more, if it is a really big or important website, or one I really like, which is probably too many for keeping it local or regional.

Hopefully all this work will not be erased whenever I shut down.

I’ve been working using three or four machines simultaneously. because the Kiosk hardware itself is very limited as far as what can be done. when logged on remotely however, through an “UNBOUND” laptop or phone, there are more options available for digging deeper into the works, using browser functions not otherwise available, including browsers other than whatever is booted on the kiosk.